Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Get Ready for Destiny Expansion I: The Dark Below

Everything you need to know about the new expansion.

By Scott Lowe on December 5, 2014 Communications Manager, Activision
Level 11

With the launch of The Dark Below on December 9, Destiny players will embark upon a new journey and evolving their Guardians with powerful new weapons and gear. There’s new content to discover and to make sure you’re ready, we’ve rounded up everything you need to know about The Dark Below.


Fight a Powerful New Enemy

The Dark Below broadens the Destiny universe and lore with the introduction of a new character, Eris, who arrives at the The Tower to warn Guardians of an impending threat from deep within Earth’s Moon. The lone survivor of an unknown group that ventured into the Hellmouth, Eris carries a startling revelation: that The Hive has summoned a powerful god named Crota with the intention of destroying Earth.

To stop the Hive and defeat Crota, Guardians will fight through three new story missions, as well as a brand new cooperative Strike and Raid.  In “The Will of Crota” — The Dark Below’s new Strike — players and Fireteams will brave the Jovian Complex in Old Russia to find and eradicate Omnigul, a powerful Hive Wizard assembling an army to aid Crota in his conquest of Earth.  Finally, The Dark Below culminates in the new 6-player Raid, Crota’s End, wherein Fireteams will descend into the Hellmouth to root out and destroy Crota himself.


Three New Crucible Arenas

In addition to the new singleplayer and cooperative missions, The Dark Below introduces three new Crucible maps, including:


Set within the Black Garden on Mars, Pantheon is a symmetrical, three-lane map optimized for all of Destiny’s PVP gametypes, including 6 vs. 6, 3 vs. 3, or Rumble matches. Players will need to fight to control the ancient Vex temple’s pathways to prevail.


For a bit more breathing room, there’s Skyshock, a larger arena located at the interplanetary defense array in Old Russia. With multiple route opportunities and a blend of infantry and vehicle-based combat, Skyshock is designed for intense 6 vs. 6 battles across Control and Clash gametypes.

The Cauldron

If frenetic, close-quarters combat is more of your style, The Cauldron is sure to satisfy. With a central chock point and tight corridors, The Cauldron is best suited for close-range engagements and suits all existing gametypes.

Increased Light Level and an Expanded Arsenal

For their efforts across The Dark Below’s story quests, cooperative missions, and PVP matches, Guardians will have an opportunity to earn powerful new weapons and gear, including new Legendary and Exotic items. Most notably, The Dark Below raises the maximum light level from 30 to 32, making your Guardian more powerful than ever before.


PlayStation Exclusive Content

Those on PlayStation platforms will enjoy all of the content above, as well as an exclusive new Strike and Exotic weapon. In The Undying Mind Strike, Guardians will return to The Black Garden to battle an ancient Vex machine. They’ll also have a chance to earn a new Exotic weapon, The 4th Horseman — a four-barrel, five shot, fully automatic shotgun. Both The Undying Mind Strike and The 4th Horseman will remain exclusive until at least Fall 2015.


Unlock a Special Trick Sparrow

Anyone who purchases The Dark Below expansion by January 15, 2015 will gain access to the EV-30 Tumbler Sparrow, a high-speed sparrow that allows players to perform mid-air tricks, including barrel rolls, flips, and more. Alternatively, those who own the Destiny Expansion Pass can redeem their EV-30 Tumbler Sparrow immediately by visiting the Postmaster in the Tower.

Something for Everyone

Though only those with The Dark Below expansion will gain access to the new story quests, cooperative Strike and Raid, new PVP maps, and reach the pinnacle light level of 32, all Destiny players will benefit from its arrival on December 9. Regardless of whether you own The Dark Below or not, you’ll be able to earn and acquire a variety of new, more powerful weapons and gear. What’s more, as announced earlier this week, The Dark Below’s release will coincide with the introduction of new methods for upgrading your gear.


Destiny Expansion I: The Dark Below arrives across all supported platforms on Tuesday, December 9 in North America. For more on Destiny and The Dark Below expansion, be sure to follow the developers @Bungie and @DestinyTheGame on Twitter.


Related Articles