Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Destiny: The Taken King — Try Out New Crucible Maps and Modes for Free

Crucible Preview Event set for September 8 through September 14.

By Scott Lowe on September 8, 2015 Communications Manager, Activision
Level 11

The launch of Destiny: The Taken King may still be a week away, but starting today, September 8 and lasting through September 14, all existing Destiny players can try out the new competitive multiplayer maps and two new modes for free as part of the Crucible Preview Event. Throughout the preview event, players will have a chance to check out seven new Crucible maps, including Memento, Bannerfall, Crossroads, Vertigo, The Dungeons, Frontier, and The Drifter. Sector 618, exclusive to PlayStation platforms until at least fall 2016, will also be available for players on PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 3.

Alongside the new maps, fans will have a chance to sample Rift and Mayhem—two of the new Crucible modes launching with Destiny: The Taken King. In Rift, two teams of six must fight for control of a Spark and deliver it to the enemy team’s Rift to score. The aptly titled Mayhem is all about frenetic combat, giving players rapidly recharging supers, melee, and grenade energy. Those that want to experience Mayhem with new Titan, Warlock, and Hunter subclasses, however, will have to pick up Destiny: The Taken King when it launches on September 15.

For more on Destiny: The Taken King, check out the replays of Bungie’s reveal live streams and stay tuned to the Activision Games Blog. You can also stay in the loop by following @Activision, @DestinyTheGame, and the developers @Bungie on Twitter.


1 Comment
Level 1

Yeah but, do we need to pay for The Taken King content even if I already own a digital copy with exapsion pass of Destiny?

Related Articles